Post #7

Homosexuality is a difficult issue to discuss.  Everyone has their own perspective on the issue, but most prefer to never have to say these opinions.  Some people consider this a religious issue, while others argue it is a biological issue (meaning you are just born that way or something).  Regardless, it is not a teachers place to discuss gay marriage in the classroom.

Gay marriage discussions would not create good class discussion, because most people have an unswayable  opinion that they believe is correct just because.  Furthermore, I think peoples’ strong opinions would only further alienate gay and lesbian students.  In addition, these controversial discussions would likely lead to numerous complaining parents.

Not teaching gay marriage does not mean teachers should not teach gay students.  Teachers should never discriminate against a student based off of race, sexual orientation, etc.  Furthermore, teachers must protect all of their students from bullying and discrimination.  Therefore, teachers should do their best to stop students from picking on their gay peers.

Personally, I am for gay marriage and rights.  Furthermore, I would never discriminate against someone, because of their sexual orientation.  Nevertheless, I am homophobic and I tend to avoid gay people.  In addition, I find even guys kissing to be gross.  When I am with my guy friends the two main things we discuss are girls and sports.  I do not want to hear a gay person’s stories about girls and I definitely do not want to play sports with gay people.  However, I feel comfortable with lesbians.  One of my high school soccer coaches was a lesbian.  Even though she predominantly worked with the goalies (a position I never played) she was my favorite member of the soccer coaching staff.  During bus rides to and from road games she would always talk about non-soccer stuff with my teammates and I.  She seemed like “one of the guys”.  In addition, she hosted the annual seniors’ soccer dinner (in her house that she shared with here lesbian partner).  Furthermore, she was the only member of the coaching staff that helped us steal a rival team’s mascot.

It is weird that I feel so uncomfortable around gay people, despite my comfortably with lesbians and my attitude towards gay rights.  I have no good explanation for my opinions.  However, since everyone views this issue so differently it is important how teachers address this issue.

2 Responses to “Post #7”

  1. hoying60 Says:

    Homosexuality is definitly a topic that needs to be left out of our school system. Like you said, many people do have very strong issues on homosexuality, so to even bring it up during school, i believe would be a horrible idea. Specifically, many guys against homosexuality alsofind it disgusting, so if a debate is brought up in a classroom full of immature, thoughtless 18 year old males, things will be said that are inappropriate for school. I do not believe, however, that gay kids should be taught any differently than straight kids. Every child should be entitled to the same education, which is also why i believe the idea of an all gay school is a horrible idea. I bet there would be all kinds of people mad if they came out with an all straight school, where only straight kids could attend.

  2. emlee2011 Says:

    I completely agree that it is not a teacher’s job to teach about gay/lesbian marriage and relationships, but i do feel teachers need to be willing to accept and treat students and parents that may choose that lifestyle wit complete respect. Also i agree they should be trying their best to stop the bullying and discrimination.
    I also accept those who are gay, I feel it is their choice. Do you think the reason guys bother you more is because you have never actually tried being around one of them??… I also don’t want to see two guys or girls making out, but then again I don’t even want to see male/female relationships making out in public. I am not a fan of bog PDA!!…
    I also feel students need to know that there are people like this so i do feel teachers may have to teach that not all families are the same as all the other students just so the are aware. It is a hard topic and issue as you have stated and it is a difficult thing for many to not to discriminate against, so we must try our best to make a change.

Leave a Reply

